Information @ your finger tips

While we are in the topic of information mining I thought I’d take the oppurtunity to rant about this tool that I have been using for the last few years. Had the urge to get the meaning of a particular word or a term or anything that you dont know about. I have had such a feeling many times, may it was an email from a friend who used an interesting word or a term in the article on the web that you dont have a clue about! In the early days I would first cut and paste in word and click on shift-F7 and look for the meaning, then I had a dictionary installed on my machine and i would use it or it would be the plain or search engine that you would rely on. But then I found GuruNet (started of as atomica, slingshot and now gurunet. Would be long before they change their names) Now all I do is “Alt-left click” and voila Gurunet gives me info on what Im looking for! and if it cannot help me out it points me to google search! How convinient!

The app is very nicely done and it acts like your personal genie. I have used this for a couple of years now and would strongly recommend it to anyone without second thoughts.

However this app is available only on Windows (A mac version is on the works). What I dont understand that is that why can this be a simple SDI application and this can be ported to any unix platform using Wine. The only problem is using Winsock 2. While this is a very good personal product, the company has found it a problem to sell to enterprise customers.

Anyways enjoy the app! hope you find it as useful as I do.

P.S : I have been using the older version and works like a charm, just downloaded the latest version

Leave a Reply

